Rise Art

Interview with Katie Rand – Winner of the First Rise Art Emerging Artists Grant

Posted in Interview by Scott @ Rise Art on October 20, 2010

Artist Katie Rand is about to take part in the Affordable Art Fair in Battersea Park from 21-24 October 2010 as an Artist-in-Residence. As the first artist to be selected and supported by Rise Art‘s Emerging Artists Grant programme– we have had the opportunity to ask her about her work and plans, and to introduce her mouth-watering, ephemeral work to our community.

Rise Art: Katie, in advance of your residency at Affordable Art Fair, what should people know about you and your background as an artist?

Katie Rand: I graduated this summer from the Arts University College Bournemouth, with a first class honours. During my time there I was involved in many exhibitions and events. My first London based exhibition was this year, at Free Range. I feel excited and honoured to have been invited to be the Artist-in- Residence this October at the AAF, and to have received Rise Art’s Production Grant to make this possible.

RA: Your choice of working with foods sets you apart form most artists. Why did you choose food as your preferred medium?

K.R.: I ask myself this question everyday! It all started at the end of my first year at University. I became interested in the child psychology, and the psychology of smell. Senses play a fundamental role in our everyday lives, which are often taken for granted. I began to question the way in which we view art. The visual is the obvious choice, and often sound, however smell is quite frequently ignored. How would a viewer react to purely smell and no visual? Would this still be considered art? Though experimentation and process I began to question the olfactory memory. Food became a key material, as it had many associations with childhood. It is a material that challenges my making, the perception of art and ones psychology.

RA: Food, unlike many materials artists use, is not durable but ephemeral – how does that impact on your work?

K.R.: The ephemeral qualities of my work play an important role. My work is often painstakingly tedious. It takes a great deal of time, planning and consideration. It excites me that there is never a permanent trace, apart from a memory or documentation of the work. I don’t like permanence as nothing lasts forever. I always have a starting point and a finishing point during the making process. The removal and destruction of the work is the finishing point. If I don’t reach this position the work is not complete.

RA: Are there any individuals or experiences that have impacted on your work?

K.R.: My work is influenced by so many things; however I am interested and inspired by Minimalism. The formal qualities interest me as does the machismo of the time. I often challenge these through my choice of material and structures, creating a sense of irony.

RA: The work you are doing for your residency at the Affordable Art Fair is a site-specific installation. How did you find the suitable installation for this location? What was your process in deciding what to do?

K.R.: The theme this October at the AAF is ‘Food Glorious Food’. That is why they approached me to be the artist-in-residence as my practice is fitting! I choose to re create (Memory 2008) because I wanted both children and adults to enjoy the work. It is fun, vibrant and interactive, which suits the AAF concept. I worked closely with the Program Manager throughout the decision, as I wanted it to be right for everyone.

RA: You graduated with a BA in Fine Art in 2010; how has the transition from school to being an artist been for you so far?

K.R.: So far so good! My feet are yet to touch the ground! I feel very lucky to have been given such a great opportunity with The Affordable Art Fair, so soon after graduating. Companies such as Rise Art and South West Artwork have been a great support.

RA: Where do you see the direction of your work heading? Do you have any particular plans?

K.R.: I have been offered a place on an MA Fine Art Course in London. I will be looking forward to starting next year. I have a couple of exhibitions lined up for 2011, which I am looking forward to also.

RA: Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

K.R.: I have no idea! I know I would like to still be practicing! My life would be incomplete without art.

Katie’s work is viewable at the Affordable Art Fair from 21-24 October. Rise Art is proud to be supporting Katie’s work as Artist-in-Residence, with our new grant scheme enabling emerging artists to finish their projects . We will announce the next opportunity to submit work and be considered for the Rise Art Emerging Artists Grant in the forthcoming weeks – email info@riseart.com to receive further information on the programme.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. wear-laconic.co.uk said, on October 20, 2010 at 11:21 am

    Well done Katie, hope the AAF is a great success!!


Leave a Reply

